Tuesday, July 10, 2018

TRUK PAC-endorsed candidates on July 17 run-off ballot

Several TRUK PAC-endorsed candidates are on the ballot for the upcoming July 17 primary runoff elections.

Some of the more marquee runoff elections include races for Attorney General, Supreme Court, Court of Criminal Appeals and Court of Civil Appeals. There are also several key legislative races of particular interest to the Alabama Trucking Association (ATA).

“It’s important that state policymakers understand the vital role of trucking,” said ATA President and CEO Frank Filgo. “Trucking moves 80 percent of the state’s manufactured goods and provides 1-out-of-every-14 jobs in the state. This Association believes these candidates can provide the best opportunity to move this state forward.”

The following are ATA’s endorsements for next week’s runoffs. More endorsements are forthcoming as the campaigns progress toward the November General Elections.


Attorney General:  Steve Marshall*-R
Supreme Court, Place 1: Brad Mendheim*-R
Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 2: Chris McCool-R
Court of Civil Appeals, Place 1:  Christy Edwards-R


Senate Dist. 13  Randy Price, R-Opelika
Senate Dist. 32  Chris Elliott, R-Spanish Fort


House Dist. 30   Craig Lipscomb, R-Gadsden
House Dist. 38   Debbie Wood, R-Valley
House Dist. 82   Pebblin Warren*, D-Tuskegee
House Dist. 91   Rhett Marques, R-Enterprise
House Dist. 102 Willie Gray, R-Citronelle