Friday, October 11, 2013

National ATA names its top fleet safety winners

The American Trucking Associations’ Safety Management Council recently announced its 2013 award winners at its Safety & Human Resources National Conference & Exhibition in Sparks, Nev.

The ATA President’s Trophy recognizes the three companies whose fleets have been judged to have the best overall safety programs from the Truck & Industrial Safety Contests. These contests judge motor carriers from across the U.S. on their safety accomplishments and safety records relative to others within their operation type and size. The top three ATA President’s Trophy recipients are honored for their superior safety achievements, outstanding commitment to industry-wide safety and extensive promotion of safety among all highway users.

2013 ATA President’s Trophy, sponsored by: Great West Casualty Co.:

  • Large fleet winner (over 100 million miles annually)
    FedEx Ground, Moon Township, Pa.
  • Mid-size fleet winner (between 25-100 million miles annually)
    Duie Pyle, West Chester, Pa.
  • Small fleet winner (under 25 million miles annually)
    CVS Transportation, L.L.C., Woonsocket, R.I.

ATA National Driver of the Year, sponsored by Custard Insurance Adjusters:

Gary Babbitt, Central Freight Lines, Dallas, Tex.

National Safety Director of the Year, sponsored by Great West Casualty Co.:

Jerry Waddell, Cargo Transporters, Inc., Claremont, N.C.

National Safety Professional Award of Excellence, sponsored by Meritor WABCO:

Jason Wing, ABF Freight System, Little Rock, Ark.

Excellence in Safety: Sponsored by: Great West Casualty Co.:

North Carolina Trucking Association