Monday, July 12, 2021

ATA seeking H. Chester Webb Award nominations

A highlight of the Alabama Trucking Association’s Annual Convention is the presentation of the H. Chester Webb Award for Distinguished Service which recognizes the leadership and community involvement by an individual of the state’s trucking industry. Criteria are based upon the nominee’s record of service in three categories: service to the industry, to the Alabama Trucking Association, and to their local community.

The Award recognizes members’ leadership and encourage public service from those who work in the highway transportation industry. Named for its donor, the Webb Award characterizes the service and leadership of a man well known and beloved throughout Alabama and national transportation circles for his own dedication to industry advancement and public service.

Any ATA member can nominate a person they believe best exemplifies the attributes described above. A panel of prior award recipients will determine the winner, and that individual will be announced during ATA’s Annual Convention’s Chairman’s Dinner & Awards Banquet on Saturday, Sept. 25.

Fifty-three individuals have been honored with a Webb Award since its creation in 1958. Recent winners include Tom McLeod (2016); Bill Ward (2017), Greg Brown (2018), and Kimble Coaker (2019) — no award was given in 2020 due to the Coronavirus pandemic.

A nominating form is available here.  You must email your nomination to Brandie Norcross at or fax to 334-262-6504 by close of business Friday, Sept. 3, 2021.