Tuesday, February 07, 2017

ATA leaders accepting nominations for Webb Award

A highlight of the Alabama Trucking Association’s Annual Convention is the presentation of the H. Chester Webb Award for Distinguished Service, which recognizes the leadership and community involvement by an individual of the state’s trucking industry. Selection criteria are based upon the nominee’s record of service in three categories: service to the industry, to the Alabama Trucking Association, and to their local community.

The purpose of the Award is to recognize such members’ leadership and to foster and encourage public service by members of the highway transportation industry. Named for its donor, the Webb Award characterizes the service and leadership of a man well known and beloved throughout Alabama and national transportation circles for his own dedication to industry advancement and public service.

Nominations are accepted from any ATA member. Please nominate a person you believe best exemplifies the attributes as described above. A panel of prior award recipients will determine the winner and that individual will be announced during ATA’s Annual Convention’s Award Banquet on Saturday, April 22.

The Webb Award has been given to 51 individuals since its creation in 1958. Recent winners include Jack Fricks (2007); Harold Sorrells (2008); Drew Linn (2009); Gene Vonderau (2010): T.J. Willings (2011); Buck Moore (2012); Bill Scruggs (2013); Gail Cooper (2014); Frank Filgo (2015); and Tom McLeod (2016).

An official nominating form is available here. Please email your nomination form to Jane Nixon at jnixon@alabamatrucking.org or fax to 334-262-6504 by close of business Tuesday, April 4, 2016.