Wednesday, June 06, 2018

ATA’s endorsed candidates win 85% of June 5th primary races

TRUK PAC endorsed candidates won 85 percent of contested races in the June 5th primary elections, according to Alabama Trucking Association officials.  TRUK PAC, the lone political action committee of ATA, had endorsed 55 contested primary candidates, winning 47 and losing 8, according to unofficial election results.

In statewide races, Gov. Kay Ivey won the Republican nomination outright against four challengers.  Losers were incumbents Chief Justice of the Supreme Court Lyn Stuart and Associate Justice Terri Thomas on the Court of Civil Appeals.

Attorney General Steve Marshall, Associate Justice of the Supreme Court Brad Mendheim, and candidate Christy Edwards for Court of Civil Appeals Judge face July 17 run-off opposition for the Republican nomination.

Regarding the State Senate races, TRUK PAC endorsed candidates lost only 2 races, those being Mary Scott Hunter (SD7) and Ronda Walker (SD25), both running for open seats.

Of the remaining TRUK PAC endorsed State Senate candidates, 7 won their party nomination while 3 others face run-off opposition.   Endorsed runoff State Senate candidates include:  Randy Price (SD13), John Knight (SD26) and Chris Elliot (SD32).

Among the candidates endorsed for the State House of Representatives, all prevailed but 4.  TRUK PAC endorsed candidates forced to a runoff include:  Craig Lipscomb (HD30), Debbie Wood (HD38), Pebblin Warren (HD82), Rhett Marques (HD91), and Willie Gray (HD102).

“TRUK PAC’s support of its selected primary candidates totaled $387,500,” said ATA President Frank Filgo.  “Eighty-one cents out-of-every PAC dollar spent went to prevailing candidates.”

TRUK PAC will now focus its efforts on winning key July 17 runoff races.


Bold – Prevailing Candidates
* – Incumbent Candidates


Governor:  Kay Ivey*-R

Secretary of State:  John Merrill*-R 

Attorney General:  Steve Marshall*-R 

Treasurer:  John McMillian-R

Supreme Court, Chief Justice:  Lyn Stuart*-R (defeated)

Supreme Court, Place 1: Brad Mendheim-R

Supreme Court, Place 4:  Jay Mitchell-R

Court of Civil Appeals, Place 1:  Christy Edwards-R

Court of Civil Appeals, Place 2:  Terri Thomas*-R (defeated)



Senate Dist. 2    Tom Butler, R-Huntsville

Senate Dist. 4    Garlan Gudger, R-Cullman

Senate Dist. 7     Mary Scott Hunter, R-Huntsville (defeated)

Senate Dist. 8    Steve Livingston*, R-Scottsboro

Senate Dist. 12  Del Marsh*, R-Anniston

Senate Dist. 13  Randy Price, R-Opelika

Senate Dist. 21  Gerald Allen*, R-Tuscaloosa

Senate Dist. 25  Ronda Walker, R-Montgomery (defeated)

Senate Dist. 26  John Knight, D-Montgomery

Senate Dist. 32  Chris Elliott, R-Spanish Fort

Senate Dist. 33  Vivian Figures*, D-Mobile

Senate Dist. 34  Jack Williams, R-Wilmer



House Dist. 3      Humphrey Lee, R-Sheffield (defeated)

House Dist. 4     Parker Moore, R-Decatur

House Dist. 9     Scott Stadthagen, R-Hartselle

House Dist. 10   Mike Ball*, R-Madison

House Dist. 12   Corey Harbison*, R-Cullman

House Dist. 14    Richard “Bull” Corry, R-Oakman (defeated)

House Dist. 16   Kyle South*, R-Fayette

House Dist. 19   Laura Hall*, D-Huntsville

House Dist. 23   Tommy Hanes*, R-Bryant

House Dist. 27   Wes Kitchens, R-Arab

House Dist. 30   Craig Lipscomb, R-Gadsden

House Dist. 32   Barbara Boyd*, D-Anniston

House Dist. 33   Ron Johnson*, R-Sylacauga

House Dist. 38   Debbie Wood, R-Valley

House Dist. 39    T.J. Maloney, R-Helfin (defeated)

House Dist. 42   Jimmy Martin*, R-Clanton

House Dist. 45    Dickie Drake*, R-Leeds

House Dist. 48   Jim Carnes*, R-Birmingham

House Dist. 49   April Weaver*, R-Alabaster

House Dist. 55   Rod Scott*, D-Fairfield

House Dist. 59   Mary Moore*, D-Birmingham

House Dist. 64   Harry Shiver*, R-Bay Minette

House Dist. 67   Prince Chestnut*, D-Selma

House Dist. 73   Matt Fridy*, R-Montevallo

House Dist. 76   Thad McClammy*, D-Montgomery

House Dist. 82   Pebblin Warren*, D-Tuskegee

House Dist. 85   Dexter Grimsley*, D-Newville

House Dist. 87   Jeff Sorrells, R-Hartford

House Dist. 88    Jeremy Arthur, R-Prattville (defeated)

House Dist. 89   Wes Allen, R-Troy

House Dist. 91   Rhett Marques, R-Enterprise

House Dist. 97   Adline Clarke*, D-Mobile

House Dist. 102 Willie Gray, R-Citronelle

House Dist. 105 Chip Brown, R-Mobile


Since 1938, the Alabama Trucking Association has served as the state’s voice of trucking. Its mission is to promote leadership in the Alabama motor carrier industry, advocate sound transportation policies to all levels of government, and works to maintain a safe, environmentally responsible and efficient Alabama transportation goods movement system.