Monday, March 06, 2023

ATA Accepting H. Chester Webb Award Nominations

Alabama trucking leaders are passionate about their work and the communities they serve. They understand their role in society as business leaders, and job creators, and serve as mentors for the teams they lead.

They also understand the trucking industry’s impact on the economy through the services they provide for their customers and the revenue their businesses generate to maintain the standard of living we all expect. A highlight of the Alabama Trucking Association’s Annual Convention is the presentation of the H. Chester Webb Award for Distinguished Service, an honor recognizing leadership and community involvement by an individual in the state’s trucking industry.

Criteria are based upon the nominee’s service record in three categories: 1.) service to the industry, 2.) to the Alabama Trucking Association, and 3.) to their local community.

We are accepting Webb Award nominations from any ATA member. Please nominate a person you believe best exemplifies the attributes described above. A panel of prior award recipients will determine the winner, and the person will be announced during ATA’s Annual Convention’s Chairman Dinner & Awards Banquet, Saturday, April 15, 2023.

The Webb Award has been given to 55 individuals since its creation in 1958. Recent winners include Bill Ward (2017), Greg Brown (2018), Kimble Coaker (2019); Wayne Watkins (2021); and Kevin Savoy (2022).

If you know an ATA member who deserves recognition for service to Alabama’s trucking industry, please CLICK HERE to download a form, complete it, and email it to Brandie Norcross at by close of business Wednesday, March 22, 2023.